Tony Stewart leads listing of 2020 NASCAR Corridor of Fame nominees


The listing of 20 nominees for the Class of 2020 contains six first-time nominees whose careers span the whole thing of NASCAR competitors.

Stewart, who’s at present co-owner of Stewart-Haas Racing and continues to compete on grime tracks throughout the nation, received 49 races within the Cup sequence, together with two wins within the prestigious Brickyard 400. Stewart, 47, received the Cup title 3 times (most lately in 2011) and in addition collected 11 wins in what’s now the Xfinity Collection and a pair in Vans.

This was his first 12 months he was eligible to be nominated.

Among the many different first-time nominees are two-time Xfinity Collection champion Sam Ard; the unique member of the “Alabama Gang,” Neil Bonnett; former Daytona 500 winner Marvin Panch; and brief monitor ace Jim Paschal.

The nominees had been chosen by a nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Corridor of Fame, monitor house owners from main services and historic brief tracks and the media. The committee’s votes had been tabulated by accounting agency EY.

From the listing of 20 nominees, 5 inductees shall be elected by the NASCAR Corridor of Fame Voting Panel, which features a nationwide fan vote on Voting Day for the 2019 class shall be Might 2.

NASCAR additionally introduced 5 nominees for the Landmark Award. They’re Edsel Ford II, Mike Helton, Dr. Joseph Mattioli, Alvin Hawkins and Ralph Seagraves.

Learn Additionally:

Following are the 20 nominees for induction into the NASCAR Corridor of Fame, listed alphabetically:

Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Collection pioneer and two-time champion

Buddy Baker, received 19 occasions within the NASCAR Cup Collection, together with the Daytona 500 and Southern 500

Neil Bonnett, received 18 occasions within the NASCAR Cup Collection, together with consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories

Pink Farmer, three-time Late Mannequin Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion

Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief and automotive proprietor

Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Collection races, together with two Southern 500 victories

Joe Gibbs, mixed for 9 automotive proprietor championships in Cup and XFINITY sequence

John Holman, received two NASCAR Cup Collection championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Collection championship crew chief

Bobby Labonte, received a championship in each the Cup Collection and XFINITY Collection

Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west sequence champion

Ralph Moody, received two NASCAR Cup Collection championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing

Marvin Panch, received 17 occasions within the NASCAR Cup Collection, together with the 1961 Daytona 500

Jim Paschal, 23 of his 25 NASCAR Cup Collection wins got here on brief tracks

Larry Phillips, solely five-time NASCAR weekly sequence nationwide champion

Ricky Rudd, received 23 occasions in NASCAR Cup Collection, together with the 1997 Brickyard 400

Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying 9 NASCAR championships

Tony Stewart, three-time NASCAR Cup Collection champion, two-time Brickyard 400 winner

Pink Vogt, the primary grasp mechanic of NASCAR, and a founding member

Waddell Wilson, received three NASCAR Cup Collection championships as an engine builder

The 5 nominees for the Landmark Award, listed alphabetically, are as follows:

Edsel Ford II, Member of the Board of Administrators for Ford Motor Firm, long-time NASCAR supporter

Alvin Hawkins, NASCAR’s first flagman; established NASCAR racing at Bowman Grey Stadium with Invoice France Sr.

Mike Helton, named third president of NASCAR in 2000; profession included monitor operator roles at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway

Dr. Joseph Mattioli, founding father of Pocono Raceway

Ralph Seagraves, fashioned groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as government with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Firm