Pritchett, Capps, Line win Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals



For Pritchett it was the picked up her first win of the season and eighth in her profession because of a three.732 at 321.04 in her MOPAR Dodge dragster, sending her previous Mike Salinas within the remaining spherical. Pritchett, who earned her second profession Brainerd win, beat Kyle Wurtzel, defending occasion winner Billy Torrence and Seattle winner Austin Prock to succeed in the ultimate spherical.

Salinas acquired previous Luigi Novelli, Clay Millican and Doug Kalitta to succeed in the ultimate spherical for the fifth time in his profession. Pritchett’s victory is the primary Prime Gasoline win of the season for DSR, and the nitro double-up for the group comes a race after rival squad John Power Racing did the identical in Seattle.

“I used to be proud to be the one to placed on the ultimate win mild for DSR, and that is the proper time to have the ability to get the momentum for our season,” Pritchett stated. “Wanting on the time sheets, we made 4 unbelievable runs and that’s one thing that the crew chiefs have been capable of do persistently, and it’s coming collectively on the excellent time.

“Between the racecar that we’ve got, the group and what we’re asking it to do, (the automotive) is performing fantastically, and I couldn’t be extra joyful.”


Capps received for the sixth time in Brainerd, going three.946 at 324.28 within the remaining spherical in his NAPA Auto Components Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat to beat DSR teammate Tommy Johnson Jr.’s three.947 at 319.98. It’s Capps’ third win in 2019 and 64th of his profession.

Capps beat defending world champ J.R. Todd, Jack Beckman and Shawn Langdon en path to the finals, whereas Johnson drove previous Tim Wilkerson, factors chief Robert Hight and No. 1 qualifier Matt Hagan to succeed in his 52nd profession remaining.

Capps fell to longtime rival John Power in an emotional remaining spherical in Seattle, a race that gave Power his 150th profession win, however Capps rebounded in spectacular trend at the moment at one among his favourite races on the NHRA circuit.

“I had my palms full at the moment,” Capps stated. “This can be a race that we circle on the calendar as a result of it’s enjoyable, however you need to race this race and get the ending touches in your tune-up.

“This can be a essential they usually’ve accomplished such a fantastic job right here. Each lanes are equal and you actually need to have your act collectively leaving this race. I’m so joyful we have had nice success right here and we had a fantastic operating automotive at the moment.”


Minnesota native Jason Line received a race for an NHRA-record 16th straight season with a run of 6.597-seconds at 209.10 mph in his Summit Racing Tools Chevrolet Camaro, beating Erica Enders within the remaining spherical. It’s Line’s 49th profession victory however his first in 2019.

It’s his second profession Brainerd win, however this triumph marked the primary time he might have fun at his residence monitor, as his 2014 occasion win was accomplished in Indy after a rain delay. 

No. 1 qualifier Line knocked off Wally Stroupe, Alex Laughlin and Deric Kramer to succeed in the ultimate spherical, whereas Enders, beat Shane Tucker, Chris McGaha and Seattle winner Matt Hartford to succeed in the ultimate.

“That is very cool,” Line stated. “As we become older, you understand these moments are going to be few and much between and fewer probability of them occurring, so it’s very particular. Proper now it feels particular, but it surely’s going be really feel extra particular afterward, for certain.

“It was only a nice weekend and a enjoyable day. We had a fantastic automotive and also you need to win right here in entrance of your family and friends. To see them and see how joyful they’re is tremendous particular. This place has been a giant a part of our lives.”

Remaining end order on the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd Worldwide Raceway.

TOP FUEL:1. Leah Pritchett; 2. Mike Salinas; three. Austin Prock; four. Doug Kalitta; 5. Brittany Power; 6. Steve Torrence; 7. Clay Millican; eight. Billy Torrence; 9. Luigi Novelli; 10. Chris Karamesines; 11. Antron Brown; 12. Terry McMillen; 13. Richie Crampton; 14. Kyle Wurtzel; 15. Scott Palmer; 16. Cameron Ferre. 
Remaining: Leah Pritchett, three.732 seconds, 321.04 mph def. Mike Salinas, four.066 seconds, 235.72 mph. 

FUNNY CAR: 1. Ron Capps; 2. Tommy Johnson Jr.; three. Matt Hagan; four. Shawn Langdon; 5. Jack Beckman; 6. Bob Tasca III; 7. Bob Bode; eight. Robert Hight; 9. Cruz Pedregon; 10. Dale Creasy Jr.; 11. Paul Lee; 12. Tim Wilkerson; 13. J.R. Todd; 14. Jonnie Lindberg; 15. Terry Haddock; 16. John Power. 
Remaining: Ron Capps, Dodge Charger, three.946, 324.28 def. Tommy Johnson Jr., Charger, three.947, 319.98. 

PRO STOCK: 1. Jason Line; 2. Erica Enders; three. Matt Hartford; four. Deric Kramer; 5. Jeg Coughlin; 6. Alex Laughlin; 7. Chris McGaha; eight. Bo Butner; 9. Richard Freeman; 10. Kenny Delco; 11. Fernando Cuadra; 12. Val Smeland; 13. Fernando Cuadra Jr.; 14. Wally Stroupe; 15. Greg Anderson; 16. Shane Tucker. 
Remaining: Jason Line, Chevy Camaro, 6.597, 209.10 def. Erica Enders, Camaro, 6.604, 207.59. 

Level standings after 17 of 24 occasions within the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Sequence:

TOP FUEL:1. Steve Torrence, 1,650*; 2. Brittany Power, 1,015*; three. Doug Kalitta, 1,zero13*; four. ClayMillican, 1,009*; 5. Antron Brown, 998*; 6. Mike Salinas, 986*; 7. Leah Pritchett, 903*; eight. Austin Prock, 826; 9. Richie Crampton, 785; 10. Terry McMillen, 708.

FUNNY CAR:1. Robert Hight, 1,397*; 2. Tommy Johnson Jr., 1,218*; three. John Power, 1,199*; four. Ron Capps, 1,171*; 5. Jack Beckman, 1,098*; 6. Matt Hagan, 1,047*; 7. Bob Tasca III, 1,038*; eight. J.R. Todd, 981*; 9. Shawn Langdon, 914*; 10. Tim Wilkerson, 824.

PRO STOCK:1. Bo Butner, 874*; 2. Greg Anderson, 802*; three. Alex Laughlin, 794*; four. Jason Line, 774*; 5. Matt Hartford, 753*; 6. Deric Kramer, 709*; 7. Erica Enders, 697*; eight. Jeg Coughlin, 663*; 9. Chris McGaha, 581*; 10. Kenny Delco, 363.