AXR Cadillacs dominate after two hours



Motion Categorical Racing’s pole winner Felipe Nasr took the lead in the beginning forward of Ricky Taylor’s Acura Group Penske ARX-05, his personal teammate Filipe Albuquerque, Dane Cameron within the second Acura, the 2 Mazda RT24-Ps of Harry Tincknell and Timo Bernhard, after which two extra Cadillacs – Renger Van Der Zande’s Wayne Taylor Racing entry and the Juncos Racing automobile piloted by Spencer Pigot.

Nasr rocketed away from his opponents, pulling nearly 10sec within the first dozen laps. On Lap 15, Albuquerque made it an AXR 1-2, swooping previous Taylor in site visitors though he was now 14sec behind his teammate. Taylor rapidly gave up an additional place to teammate Cameron, however the #6 then relinquished that place after simply 33minutes to pit. Subsequent time by, all the opposite DPis – bar Pigot who’d stopped a few laps earlier – pulled in. The #77 of Bernhard overshot its field by a big margin and needed to get pushed again by the crew. He would rejoin 10th however nonetheless on the lead lap.

After the stops, Van der Zande had the WTR Cadillac in fifth forward of Tincknell’s Mazda, whereas Pigot’s barely early cease had appeared to repay because the Juncos automobile ran seventh.

After 55 laps, Nasr’s lead over Albuquerque was 20sec, with Cameron an additional 20sec down in third. On the second stops, Nasr handed off to Derani, whereas Penske’s two Indy 500 winners Juan Pablo Montoya and Helio Castroneves took over the Acuras in third and fourth. The Mazdas additionally modified drivers, Jonathan Bomarito getting the #55 Mazda RT24-P forward of van der Zande’s WTR Cadillac, with Oliver Jarvis changing Bernhard within the #77 and up into seventh.

The primary yellow flew when Cameron Cassels’ Efficiency Tech Oreca P2 automobile went off line to let Montoya by way of at Flip three, got here again on line in entrance of Castroneves, and when the Acura tried to go the opposite aspect at Flip four, the pair made heavy contact. The Oreca flew into the wall, and the entrance of the #7 Acura sustained heavy bodywork harm. He would pit and emerge in seventh, as the remainder of the Prototypes stopped.

Montoya comfortably jumped Albuquerque on the restart to seize second and break up the AXR Cadillacs, though Penske concurrently took a knock as Castroneves was adjudged guilty for the collision, and was given a drive-through penalty. Albuquerque would retake second from Montoya on Lap 82 and, JPM was beneath stress from Bomarito, van der Zande and Jarvis.

GT Le Mans

James Calado retained his benefit within the Risi Competizione Ferrari 488 forward of the BMW of Philipp Eng, whereas Richard Westbrook jumped to 3rd within the #67 Ford GT forward of the Porsche 911 RSRs of Laurens Vanthoor and Nick Tandy. The Corvette C7.Rs of Oliver Gavin and Antonio Garcia ran sixth and eight, separated by the second Ford of Joey Hand, and ninth and final ran the BMW of Colton Herta.

A battle between Eng and Westbrook allowed Tandy to not solely move Vanthoor however transfer into second though his Porsche was now over 8sec behind Calado’s flying Ferrari. Eng then fell to fifth behind Vanthoor.

Gavin and Herta can be the primary to cease, simply earlier than the half-hour mark, and each fell a lap behind class chief Calado. After 43 minutes, Eng pitted and the M8 was taken behind the wall. Because the GTLM vehicles got here in on sequence, Calado handed over to Alessandro Pier Guidi, Tandy gave up his seat to Frederic Makowiecki, however Vanthoor stayed on board the #912 Porsche. A protracted first stint for the Fords noticed Westbrook resume in second forward of Makowiecki, with off-sequence Gavin in fourth forward of Vanthoor. Nonetheless, the charging Joey Hand went into third within the second Ford.

When the primary full-course warning flew, the GTLM vehicles took the chance to cease, and the 2 Fords for Hand (#66) and Ryan Briscoe (#67) emerged forward of the Risi Ferrari now steered by Daniel Serra. Behind this trio ran Jan Magnussen now within the #three Corvette, the 2 911s now piloted by Patrick Pilet and Mathieu Jaminet, Tommy Milner within the #four Corvette, and Connor de Phillippi within the #25 BMW.

GT Daytona

Polesitter Corey Lewis stored the Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini forward of Jeff Westphal’s Scuderia Corsa Ferrari, the pair chased by Ben Keating within the Riley Motorsports Mercedes AMG GT3 and Richard Heistand’s AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F.

However Robby Foley wasted little time in bounding ahead from his closing row begin, sending the Turner Motorsport BMW M6 into fourth, as Heistand got here beneath stress from Justin Marks’ Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX.

Following the primary spherical of stops, Bryan Sellers took over from Lewis and resumed within the lead forward of the Ferrari now steered by Cooper MacNeil. Keating stayed on board the Riley Mercedes and retained third however the automobile he was now main was Zacharie Robichon’s Pfaff Motorsports Porsche, forward of Dillon Machavern’s Turner Motorsport BMW M6.

Following the stops through the first warning interval, the Paul Miller Racing Lambo fell to 3rd, MacNeil taking on the lead for Scuderia Corsa, with Lars Kern second within the Pfaff Motorsports Porsche. In fourth was Felipe Fraga within the Riley Mercedes, forward of Morad’s Montaplast by Land Audi R8 and Machavern within the Turner BMW.

On the restart, nonetheless, Sellers and Fraga rapidly deposed Kern to take second and third respectively, and closed in on MacNeil. Fraga then went previous Sellers and the pair of them zapped the main Ferrari on the two-hour mark.